Bibliotekarska zbirka

No doubt about it: strategic planning is a serious commitment. But when carried out skillfully, thoughtfully, and with sensitivity to the impacts on all those involved, it's an undertaking that can pay large dividends for the library and its users. A strong strategic plan gives shape and clarity to the library's intentions and, when carefully written, can make a powerful case for the library's indispensability to its sponsoring institution. Providing library deans, directors, and university librarians with up-to-date guidance, this book outlines a step-by-step method that helps readers prepare for a successful strategic planning process, create and implement a strategic plan, and assess the effectiveness of both the process and the resulting plan; discusses the differences between scenario planning and strategic planning, with pointers on determining which would be best in a given organization; offers expert advice for communicating a strategic plan clearly and compellingly to the library's many stakeholders at every stage of the process; shares ways to bring library staff as well as users into the planning process; teaches how to use surveys and focus groups to inform strategic planning, complete with sample survey questions and a consent cover letter; addresses whether and how to hire consultants; concludes with a summary of the essential elements of a successful planning process, ideal for quick reference; and includes an appendix with numerous useful templates, from an Executive Council Strategic Planning Retreat Agenda to a Final Report.

The figures are eye-opening: more than 1.6 billion works on 9 million websites are licensed under Creative Commons (CC). These materials constitute an extraordinarily rich repository for teaching, learning, sharing, and creative reuse. Knowing your way around CC will help you make the most of the Open Access (OA) and open educational resources (OER) movements. This book represents the first-ever print complement to the CC Certificate program, providing in-depth coverage of CC licenses, open practices, and the ethos of the Commons. Inside readers will find guidance on the layers and elements of CC licenses, with clear explanations on how they interact; reusing, revising, and remixing; how to acknowledge the underlying work in a remix; techniques for locating works in the public domain and communicating their value; supporting learners' access to a wide array of open knowledge resources in primary, secondary, and higher education; assessing institutional policies for open education, plus advice on revising these policies; ways to adapt existing openly licensed materials in order to keep your institution's knowledge base relevant and up to date; how to meet the open licensing requirements increasingly present in government and foundation grants and contracts; and hundreds of authoritative resources for additional learning.

Visual research methods (VRM) comprise a collection of methods that incorporate visual elements such as maps, drawings, photographs, videos, as well as three-dimensional objects into the research process. In addition, VRM including photo-elicitation, photovoice, draw-and-write techniques, and cognitive mapping are being leveraged to great effect to explore information experiences to investigate some of the central questions in the field; expand theoretical discussions in LIS; and improve library services and spaces. Visual Research Methods is the first book to focus on visual methods in LIS, providing a comprehensive primer for students, educators, researchers and practitioners in the field. Contributed chapters in the book showcase examples of VRM in action and offer the insights, inspirations, and experiences of researchers and practitioners working with visual methods.

This book brings together some of the leading contemporary international authorities on legal deposit to explore two primary questions. First, what is the impact of electronic legal deposit on the 21st Century library? And second, what does the future hold for libraries as legal deposit collections meet the digital age? The 2013 announcement of e-Legal Deposit brought, for the first time, written information online under the purview of the UK Legal Deposit Libraries, a trend evident across the world. This was heralded as a vital step in preserving the UK's "digital universe", a grand assertion that requires careful interrogation. In particular, while the regulations allow for the systematic collection of digitised and born-digital texts, they also prescribe how these materials can be accessed by the public in the short to medium term. The interface between legal deposit as an activity for posterity, and open data-driven approaches to research and government, define the nature of this mooted digital universe. Electronic Legal Deposit draws on evidence gathered from real-world case studies produced in collaboration with world-leading libraries, researchers and practitioners, as well as provide a thorough overview of the state of legal deposit at an important juncture in the history of library collections. The book addresses issues such as contemporary user behavior with e-legal deposit collections; the relationship between e-legal deposit, digital library services, and the digital divide; ways in which legal deposit legislation shape our use of library collections; the impact of digital scholarship on library services; the future of legal deposit in a changing information landscape; and the long-term implications of how our digital collections are conceived, regulated and used.

Does everything just seem to be happening too fast? Are you finding there's no time between hearing that change is coming and dealing with your team's frustration once it arrives? What's more, all eyes are on you; and though you're supposed to be directing, supporting, and helping your team succeed, frankly, you're getting pulled down into the quicksand too! Sound familiar? From renowned leadership guru Hakala-Ausperk, author of the bestseller Be A Great Boss, comes this unique planner for helping your team survive and thrive amidst change. The first in a series of pragmatic leadership planners, this tool is designed to be useful as soon as you turn the first page. It's filled with a variety of focused planning exercises, activities, and self-directed questions that will help you step back and reflect on what's happening, what's out of whack, and what you can do to get focused; think about what changes your users really want from libraries, as well as what your team needs from you as a leader; build trust and confidence in the future among the people you supervise; identify simple and effective solutions to current and future problems; finalize your plan by creating lists, sketching out a calendar, and following up with your team; and plan ways to adapt to changes while staying grounded.